A Shadow Bright And Burning : Jessica Cluess

a-shadow-bright-and-burning

Goodreads summary:

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamor of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

 

 

 

This BOOK. Guys I just want to flail and throw myself against the wall. I ADORED this book on so many levels.The characters, plot, magic, BOYS, MONSTERS. It was all so wonderful!! First off, the cover should be super appealing to you and therefore you should just pick it up and read it. I told myself that I would never read a heavily magic oriented book after Harry Potter because you know HP is just legendary. Well, I was in for a HUGE surprise.I have personally claimed Blackwood as mine, sorry girls. Magnus is my side bro. His witty comebacks are the reason I’m alive.

The world that Jessica created was pure magic and the world building, I’m quoting Victoria Aveyard; Author of The Red Queen series, ” the world building is as deep and dark as the ocean.” GUYS, the Monsters. Oh my lord, they are so creepy it’s delicious. There are quite a few monsters in the story, each monster has it’s minions. What’s so intriguing about those monsters is that they are so original and unpredictable that they render you speechless. I think Jessica is a genius to come up with them and so creative to give them such incredible depths and powers. They are simply the most atrociously wicked monsters I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

Now, to the boys. Oh the boys. Normally there is like one guy and we know he is the main love interest. Jessica gave us the esteemed honor of having 7 boys, if I haven’t miscounted. Don’t get me wrong, we didn’t have a go at all of them, 😛 but I enjoyed the way they a;l interacted with each other and the overall atmosphere they contributed to throughout the novel. Especially the ending. I think there is a boy for everyone in this story and I really did appreciate that.

I have personally claimed Blackwood as mine, sorry girls. Magnus is my side bro. His witty comebacks are the reason I’m alive. Blackwood has this VIBE to him that just makes me fawn over him. He is my brooding babe, but he’s a special one. Rook is the best friend that you want to choke and hug at the same time. Might I add that all of my babies are just that, MY babies! So, Jessie when you read this. DON’T KILL OFF ANY OF MY DEAR CHILDREN OKAY?! Please and Thank you!!!

Okay, back to the review. So, Henrietta is what you might call the “chosen one”. She is taken from the place she lives in and thrust into a new world with the sorcerers because she is the prophesized one. Henrietta must learn how to harness her powers and basically learn to live a sorcerer’s life. I can’t say much about the plot without really spoiling any surprises but I strongly recommend reading this book because I have never been so enthralled and just in love with this story and I think it’s one of my all time favorite series.

I cannot praise Jess enough, she has created an amazing world and the twists and turns of the plot are so shocking I was appalled at how every piece fit together. The world building is just so tantalizingly dark and the story just lures you in like a spider and when you think that you have seen it all that’s when you realize you have seen NOTHING yet. Point taken, you really need this work of art in your life.

I deem this book a solid 5 stars/ 5 stars because it was epic in so many ways! The cover is just gorgeous and the story itself is spellbinding.I recommend this book to anyone who reads YA Fantasy! Jess left me wanting so much more after that ending and I can’t wait for the sequel ” A Poison Dark and Drowning”, I think this is going to be one hell of an amazing series and I’m enticed to see what Jess has in store for us!

Save

4 thoughts on “A Shadow Bright And Burning : Jessica Cluess

    1. Omg I’m so glad you loved it as well!! Oh the sequel is scaring me in the best way possible. Aw thank you so much, I’m so happy that you took the time to read it and comment on it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

