Stalking Jack The Ripper by: Kerri Maniscalco

stalking-jack-the-ripper

Goodreads summary:

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

 

 

Victorian Era. Sherlock Holmes. Murders. Gruesome Anatomy. Deception. Boy oh boy. This is one of my favorite books. SJTR is my personal ” How To Get Away  With Murder” guide. Gosh, there are so many things I love about this book! I loved the in-depth analysis and use of medical terms throughout the novel because it just made it so relatable.

I personally love murder shows and crime shows. I suggest you watch Hawaii Five-O and Sherlock ( both on Netflix) they are my favorite crime shows!!! I really love mysteries and murders intrigue me to a certain extent, it’s like a really big puzzle piece with no predictable hints and every detail contributes to the bigger picture and it’s a challenge that I love to use as brain exercise.

Anyhow, I adore Audrey’s strong personality as well as her interactions with others throughout the book. I absolutely LOVED her never ending intellect regarding anatomy and the human body. The extraordinary use of medicine that’s woven throughout the intricate threads of the story is really a work if art within itself. You really don’t need to look up in a dictionary what the words being used were. I think Kerri nailed this book in the character dynamics and medical terminology.

The setting was so perfect. I am amazed at the amount of research and history that was put into the world building. It was so vivid and impeccably well thought out. I also loved how the idea of ” the ripper” was very elusive, in a sense where you would doubt anyone and everyone. I found it very clever on Kerri’s part. Another element I simply swoon over is Thomas Cresswell. Hello. Tommy ( he’s mine just saying, I have many tweets and things that prove he is mine and Kerri approves, as does Tommy) is just so sassy, yummy, and his demeanor is appealing. Seriously the brains behind this book and the characters are insanely fleshed out and absolutely bloody (yes I went there, humor me :P) brilliant!!

I would give Stalking Jack The Ripper a solid 4.5/5 stars simply because the middle part of the book dragged on a bit for me and I wanted a little bit more action to happen. Other than that I can confidently say this book was one of my favorite reads of 2016 and I am so excited to see what happens in the next book, “Hunting Prince Dracula”. GUYS it’s SET in ROMANIA. Need I say more? I cannot wait for this grotesquely unique series to be completed and admired on my shelves, I hope it graces your shelves as well!

 

One of my favorite lines in this book is:

“He murdered women in cold blood. He terrorized an entire city. He taunted those of us who hunted him down.


But despite all these horrors, in the end, I could not deny it…I was the girl who loved The Ripper.”

Save

9 thoughts on “Stalking Jack The Ripper by: Kerri Maniscalco

  1. I love this book too! I think it was really unique, and Audrey Rose is one of the best female characters I’ve come across in a while. I liked that she enjoyed feminine things, but had her eyes on a “man’s” job. And the mystery was very well written (although I guessed who the killer is, and ended up right), and I couldn’t tell that this was a debut novel!

    Like

    1. Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Ah yes, SJTR is so incredibly unique, well written and transporting. It was definitely one of my favorite books of 2016! Ah yes, I figured out who the killer was, but I still enjoyed it very much. Kerri has an amazing ability to capture and entice her readers in more ways than one and I’m so thrilled you enjoyed this book!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you know she has a blog on this site? Recently there was a cover reveal of the next book, and I am so excited! And her writing style manages to sound Victorian yet understandable and enjoyable. And vivid! I loved her descriptions; I could see everything clearly.

        Like

      2. Ahaha yes I do know she has a WordPress I’m friends with Kerri😋. Ah yes, hunting prince Dracula, I’ve been so ecstatic since I read SJTR early last year and I’m SO READY for HPD. Her world building and tone are both so enticing and mind-blowing that I feel as if I’m transported to London. She’s simply phenomenal and a sweetheart!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wow…you’re friends with her? That is so cool! Lucky… I am so excited for Hunting Prince Dracula. I want to know what happens! And I feel like this would also be a cool way for her to talk about mental health along with the forensics in a way; I’m curious about how people treated it back then, and after STJR, Audrey Rose probably has some problems.
        And gah, I can’t wait for her world building in HPR. I think she’ll do a great job! (And I agree; it is kinda like time travel reading her books) 😊

        Like

      4. Yes I am :). I’m really excited for HPD, I can’t wait for it. It’s also taking place in Romania which is one of my favorite places in the whole world. Oh yes, you picked up on that as well? I think people back in the day belittled it. Oh ya, I can’t wait to see how her journey with Tommy progresses!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ooh, Romania will be an interesting setting! Yeah, as much as I enjoy the forensic science, I think that this would be a very good opportunity to write about the stigma that surrounded mental health back then. It’d be interesting. And yep, I have to say I definitely like her and Thomas as a couple. They actually have chemistry!

        Like

Leave a Reply

