Six Of Crows by: Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crows.jpg

Goodreads summary:

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

 

This is the first heist book I have ever read and I had no idea what to expect. BOY WAS I IN FOR A DAMN GOOD SURPRISE. This is the first book by Leigh that I have read and I am so shocked at the amount if detail and layout this book has. I knew from all the movies I have watched that it’s incredibly difficult and intricate. Having said that, it’s one thing to watch a movie or a show about heists; and A WHOLE new perspective of visualizing when you read about it. I was kind of worried because heists are impossibly hard to pull off and tag on to it a SUCCESSFUL heist. Well, this miracle has been bestowed upon us by the one and only Leigh Bardugo.

Six Of Crows is set in Ketterdam, which is a very rough and tumble area and there are a couple of gangs that reside in it. Now, the main characters are: Kaz , Inej, Nina, Matthias, Jesper and Wylan. I normally am super picky when it comes to reading a book with multiple perspectives and Six Of Crows has SIX!! Imagine, so I was super worried because it’s either you hit a home run or it’s a trainwreck. This was 25 zillion home runs at the world series. I haven’t read a book that really pulls off many points of view like six of crows. I didn’t ever feel like the story was lacking, or that the scenes were pointless. Everything was perfect, it flowed together perfectly!

So, since this is a heist book I was going in kind of iffy because I was like well what is going to happen. Some backstory, my all time favorite heist movies are The Italian Job and Ocean’s Eleven. So I have such high standards when it comes to heists ( wow never thought I’d be put in a position to say that).

Here are a few scenes and quotes that I adored so much while reading Six Of Crows:

“Matthias the big brooding, yellow tulip.”

“Trickery is not my native tongue, but I may learn to speak it yet.”

A group of hooting kids clinging to a tank painted with the Fjerdan flag and charging along like some deranged float gone astray from its parade; a girl in purple silk  and a boy with red gold curls poking out from behind the guns; four soaked people holding tight to the sides for dear life- a Shu boy in prison clothes, two bedraggled druskelle, and Nina, a half naked girl in shreds of teal chiffon shouting,” We have a moat!”

Scheming face, Jesper murmured.

Definitely, ” agreed Wylan.

Matthias folded his arms. ” Digging in your bag of tricks, demjin?”

Kaz flexed his fingers in his gloves. How did you survive the Barrel? When they took everything from you, you found a way to make something from nothing.

Anyhow, I thoroughly enjoyed Six Of Crows and I love all my dregs and I just don’t want anyone to DIE. I love ALL the ships, seriously I am madly in love with Nina & Matthias. Nina is my spirit animal, she unashamedly loves food, outspoken, bold, gorgeous, comfortable in her body, brave and a caring cinnamon roll whom I would be best friends with. You know the phrase, ” I will sink with this ship.” I WILL SINK WITH THIS DAMN SHIP.

I wholeheartedly give Six Of Crows a solid 5 stars. I started out thinking it might be a 4 star but then I was so drawn into the world and the characters I couldn’t see it being anything other than a 5 star book. I hope this review encourages you to pick up Six Of Crows and read it because it is such an entertaining read!

Save

12 thoughts on “Six Of Crows by: Leigh Bardugo

    1. Oooh I’ve never heard of it but I’ve heard if Ally Carter! And I’m into heist books if they’re done very well. Thank you for the recommendation, I’ll definitely check it out.

      Like

      1. Omg Nina and Matthias. 😍 I like voiced relationships and Nina is shameless which I adore. But inej and Kaz are so cute and reserved and omg jesper and wylan❤️

        Like

Leave a Reply

