The Secret Of A Heart Note by : Stacey Lee

static1-squarespace

Good reads Summary:

An evocative novel about a teen aroma expert who uses her extra sensitive sense of smell to mix perfumes that help others fall in love while protecting her own heart at all costs

Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking—all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn’t want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman’s son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn’t always a choice you can make.

At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee’s The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one’s place in the world.


Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book for review. This does not affect my rating or opinion of the book.

Oh dear. Stacey Lee has struck again. I am still emotionally reeling from the roller coaster of feels I was on while reading The Secret Of A Heart Note. I am  not a fan of contemporaries, they aren’t my forte. So, I normally just steer clear of them. But, something about Secret and of course no denying that Stacey’s writing is just magical.

In my humble opinion, I found this to be the first YA fantasy/ contemporary to actually get me to like a contemporary book. This is definitely a first time for me to say the least, but Stacey wrote a tantalizing coming of age  novel that is so diverse in so many aspects I really enjoyed every single page of it.

So, onto the review. Mimosa is a 15-year-old girl, who is a “love witch”. She makes potions with her mother that practically make people open their eyes to love or the possibility of it at least. Every emotion has a scent, I am so flabbergasted ( i love this word)  at the amount if intricate details that were used t describe the scents , plants, and aromas that were used in SOAHN (Secret Of A Heart Note). I repeatedly had to look up the scents and the plants that Stacey used because I didn’t know so many of them and after I finished reading SOAHN I feel like I could be  a licensed aromateur.

Anyhow, back to the matter at hand. The most interesting spin on this story was that when you expect to hear about magic and anything fantasy related there seems to be a looming notion that  it’s going to be forbidden magic and it’s meant to be hidden and kept under wraps. BUT, instead of everybody in Mim’s high school knows she’s a love witch and it was really refreshing knowing how the setting would be if the factor of knowledge of elixirs  was actually already known.

Mim and her mother are the last aromateurs on the planet, their “secret weapon” of sorts is their nose; without it, they can’t make their elixirs because their noses are their guides. Therefore, their noses are their priorities above all and they are not allowed to fall in love. The story behind that is that there is some sort of curse from an ancestor that warns them from falling in love. She stated that if one was to fall in love they would lose their sense of smell.

Therefore, at all costs, Mim cannot fall in love because she is the only one who would be able to carry on her mother’s work and if she fails to do so, the whole aromateur bloodline would cease to exist. Talk about melodramatic, I can’t imagine that kind of pressure on my shoulders. Let me introduce you to some of the cats. Now, there is this one stunning boy named Court Sawyer who happens to be the all-star soccer player of the school.  Kali, Mim’s only friend. Vicky, the mean girl. Let me leave it at that, you will find out the rest when you read the book because I physically cannot continue gushing without spoiling anything!!

I give The Secret Of A Heart Note by Stacey Lee Five stars because it was the best coming-of-age blend of fantasy and contemporary I have ever read!! If you’ve had the pleasure of reading it please let me know what you think below! 🙂

Save

Leave a Reply

